Global Site Navigation (use tab and down arrow)

Faculty of Engineering
UNB Fredericton

Back to Engineering

Engineering Design Symposium

Designing a better future

The UNB Engineering Design Symposium is an annual event where final-year engineering students showcase their designs and prototypes to the community. More than half of the projects are sponsored by external clients where students are mentored by practicing engineers.

Student projects from each program are presented during the annual symposium.

2024 Design Symposium

The 2024 Engineering Design Symposium was a virtual and in-person event hosted at the Wu Conference Centre.

  • Thursday, April 4, 2024
  • 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
  • Virtual and in-person: Wu Conference Centre
  • Open to the public
  • Free of charge

Full program

2024 Engineering Design Symposium winners

First Place: Sewage Treatment Plant Upgrade for Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station - I. M. Lousise Kamana, M. Ibrahim, A. Rathinavelu, J. Weaver

Second Place: Reducing the Carbon Footprint of a Lime Kiln, Irving Pulp and Paper - A. Kerr, B. MacDonald, M. Lipsett, C. Smith

Third Place: Producing Hydrogen from Waste Aluminum Dross - J. Ellis, P. Levesque, J. Seamans, M. Turnbull

Best technical report and best presentation, Civil Engineering: Serenity Lane-Rainsford Lane Active Transportation Connection - Z. DesRoches, L. Harris, K. Kirkbride, K. MacLean

First Place, Civil Engineering: Fish Passage Potential on Aboiteaux Structures within the Bay of Fundy - H. Morrissey, M. Buzas, S. Butland, B. Maclean

Second Place, Geological Engineering: Slope Stability along the West River Road - C. Galaise, M. Probert, A. Snodgrass, E. Young, J. Hogan

John F. Murphy Prize ($1000 for Any Concentration): Force Myography Wearable Device (Electrical Design) - J. MacPherson, L. Morrison, R. Meredith, S. Boyd

John F. Murphy Prize ($1000 for Power/Renewable Energy): Nanogrid Nexus (Software Design) - C. Fiander, C. Davis, Y. Rizk, J. Soehner, B. Irvine

Software engineering prize ($1000): AI House Predictor (Software Design) - M. Lalonde, R. Greenan, T. Donovan, G. Tamayo, B. Jacobs

IEEE NB Section Prize ($600): CubeSat NB, Satellite Comm & Ground Station - B. MacEwen, C. Corscadden, P. Ainguah, T. Stewart

First Place ($1000): The future of earthquake damage detection; Using AI to detect damages with off-nadir satellite imagery - A. Barrieau, S. McNally, A. Nielsen

Second Place ($750): Viability of aerial GPR for infrastructure planning - C. Rafuse, E. Speziale, N. Tubb

Third Place ($500): QuickAssess AI; Automation of the property assessment process - R. Matchett, C. Paul, G. Mathers

ANBLS Award ($500): Supplementing legal survey plans for virtual home buyers - Z. Economou, D. Fox, S. Sawler

Best Poster: The next step for crop rotations; Using satellite interferometry for predictive analysis - R. Hughes, C. O'Neill, J. Rees

First Place ($1000): Reactive Power - S. Ables, T. Vickers, N. Burns

Second Place ($500): TactiX - M. Kassimi, I. Khan, R. McIntosh, M. Nguyen