Non-Credit Course Committee

Membership:  2018-2019

(3-year terms, term expiring 30 June of year in brackets)

Name and Term ExpiryPosition / Constituency
Ian Allen (Senator) [e-o] Executive Director, College of Extended Learning
Joanne Wright (2021) (Senator) Dean or Designate
Wayne Albert (2021) (Senator) Dean or Designate
Sharon Wahl (2021) (Senator) Dean or Designate

(a) Terms of Reference

(As revised by F. Senate September 2001, October 2002 and November 2008)

The Committee will:

  1. act on Senate's behalf, as permitted under S. 43(2) of the UNB Act, to execute its authority under S. 40 (e) and (k) with respect to the establishment and regulation of all non-credit courses offered by the University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, to the general public.
  2. consider proposed new non-credit course offerings, and changes in courses, and grant or withhold approval as it sees fit; it may also review repeat offerings and require changes in, or withdrawal of courses.
  3. develop its own procedures and ensure that when non-credit courses are proposed, full information on these courses is documented and/ or presented.
  4. report at least annually to Senate

(b) Membership (4)

  • Ex-Officio: Executive Director of the College of Extended Learning
  • 3 Dean: Appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Nominating Committee.

Note: Each Dean so appointed may specify a designate who shall serve the normal term of office for the Dean

(c) Chair

A Senator elected annually by and from the members of the Committee.