Nominating Committee

Membership:   2017-2018

(3-year terms, term expiring 30 June of year in brackets)

Name and Term ExpiryPosition / Constituency
George MacLean (Chair) [e-o] Vice-President Fredericton (Academic)
Sarah DeVarenne (Secretary, non-voting) [e-o] Senate Secretary
Susan Blair (Senator) Arts
Dorothy DuPlessis (Senator) Business Administration
Patricia Evans (Senator) Computer Science
Lynn Randall (Senator) Education
Lloyd Waugh (Senator) Engineering
Van Lantz (Senator) Forestry
Jonathon Edwards (Senator) Kinesiology
Jula Hughes (Senator) Law
Kathryn Weaver (Senator) Nursing
Cynthia Stacey (Senator) Renaissance College
Gary Saunders (Senator) Science
Joanne Smyth (Senator) Library
Ian Allen (2019) (Senator) Other Senator
Chis McGinn (2018)  (Senator) Student Union Student Senator
Jesse Reid (2018) (Senator) Alternate Student Union Senator
Kang Liang (2018) (Senator) GSA Student Senator
Reilly Gorham (2018) (Senator) ALPS Student Senator

(a) Terms of Reference 

(As revised by F. Senate September 2001, February 2004, September 2004, and May 2009)

The committee will

  1. review the membership of Senate committees and Senate representatives on other committees each Spring, and at other times as necessary, and make nominations to Senate for replacements or additions;
  2. make nominations to search committees and to other committees as directed by Senate;
  3. collect, review and, if necessary, proper revisions in the terms of reference and structure of Senate committees;
  4. draft guideline and instructions for Senate committees, including the form of different types of reports (e.g. reports which recommend action should contain the necessary recommendations in a form which will be appropriate for Senate debate);
  5. maintain a general supervision over Senate committees to ensure that their reports are available to the Senate when needed;
  6. recommend by-laws for Senate, review the by-laws from time to time, and recommend any necessary changes.

(b) Membership (18)

  • Ex-Officio
    • Vice-President Fredericton (Academic) - Chair
    • Secretary, F. Senate - Secretary (non-voting)
  • 11 Senators: 1 from each Faculty and Renaissance College Elected by the Senators from each Faculty and Renaissance College
  • 3 Student Senators: 1 from each of the Board-recognized organizations on the Fredericton campus, presently the Student Union, Graduate Student Association and  Adult Learners and Part-Time Students (ALPS) elected by the Student Senators with the full-time undergraduate representative elected by te full-time undergraduate Senators and an alternate Student Senator from the Student Union elected by the full-time U/G Senators
  • 1 Librarian Senator: Elected by the Librarian Senators
  • 1 "Other" Senator: (i.e. non-faculty/ librarian/ student) Elected by the "Other" Senators

(c) Chair

Vice-President Fredericton (Academic)

(d) E-mail Balloting

E-mail balloting may be conducted on matters that have already been discussed and given a general indication of assent by the Committee or for certain routine items of business which require approval for recommendation to Senate at its next meeting. The Secretary, in consultation with the Chair, shall identify items of business which could be considered by e-mail ballot. The Secretary (or designate) shall contact the members of the Committee by e-mail to gain consent to vote on the matter(s) in question by e-mail. Should any member of the Committee feel the matter(s) require the Committee to meet, the Secretary shall call a meeting of the Committee. Members who do not respond to the request within three days will be assumed to have given consent to the e-mail ballot. If the members agree to an e-mail ballot, the Secretary (or designate) shall forward an e-mail ballot to each voting member of the Committee. Full documentation, if not already available to Committee members, shall be circulated with the ballot.

The ballot shall contain three options: FOR/ AGAINST/ ABSTAIN

For a motion to be approved on an e-mail ballot, a majority of the members eligible to vote must vote FOR the motion. In determining the number required for a majority, those voting ABSTAIN are excluded from the total eligible to vote.

Reports to Senate


  • February 2012
  • January 2012
  • November 2011
  • September 2011
  • June 2011
  • May 2011


  • June 2011
  • May 2011
  • April 2011
  • February 2011
  • November 2010
  • September 2010
  • May 2010


  •  March 2010
  • November 2009
  • September 2009
  • April 2009


  • April 2009
  • January 2009
  • November 2008
  • October 2008
  • August 2008
  • June 2008
  • May 2008
  • April 2008


  • June 2008
  • May 2008
  • September 2007


  • May 2007
  • February 2007
  • January 2007
  • November 2006
  • October 2006
  • September 2006


  • February 2006
  • January 2006
  • November 2005
  • October 2005
  • September 2005
  • June 2005
  • May 2005